RA Blog Week 2017 – Hobbies

BANNER2017

I must say that I have enjoyed #RABlog week.  Not only has it made me consistently write, but I have also consistently read other blogs.  Some that I read regularly and also some new ones that I will definitely read going forward.  Day 4 is about Hobbies.  This year that’s a tough one for me to talk about.

My number one hobby for a long time has been Skiing.  Snow Skiing.  In fact, my parents live down the street from my home ski area and Mom refers to me as “Ski Daughter” to her neighbors and friends.  I have a season pass every year at that mountain where I ski most weekends and some weekdays.  We also have a group that regularly goes to Switzerland for a 10 day trip.  I had planned to go in March, 2017 but had to back out because of my Knee Replacements.  I also had to turn in my season pass for a refund.  This coming winter I’m reluctant to do much skiing, and any I do will be done late in the season, on a mid week day where the sun in shining.  Just enough to take a few steps to know that I can do it again.  To this end, I’ve returned to regular workout with my personal trainer.  We are working on my legs.

Probably my number 2 hobby is gardening.  Sadly, that has been neglected this year as well.  I wasn’t well enough to garden until the middle of August so the weeds took over.  Hopefully next year I will be up to doing some gardening because I think of it as soul work.  When you’re hands are in the dirt and you’re making your world a little more beautiful, you are definitely feeding your soul.

I wouldn’t say that golf is a hobby.  As a sports junkie, I’ve watched it for years and started playing about 10 years ago.  Sadly, I’ve not been able to golf last season or this season although I’m feeling ready to go out and swing a club.  But I like to do it with Mr. Phat because he’s a patient teacher, and his health has not allowed him to golf this summer.  Perhaps next year we can go back to a weekly “nine & dine” round.

The only hobbies that I’ve participated in this year would be the watching of sports on TV and a little bit of reading.  So that’s not saying much.

DSC02405

Here’s hoping for a better Hobby year in 2018!!!

One thought on “RA Blog Week 2017 – Hobbies

  1. Pingback: Great Blogs I have Read this Week | Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

Leave a Reply

