Mid Summer update

View from lunch yesterday in Stonington borough in CTstonington

Tomorrow is 11 weeks since my second knee replacement and 22 weeks since my first.  Feeling good.  I just went on a walk with the dog and realized that I was at a normal walking pace.  It felt good.  I’ve been doing 6000-7000 steps per day and hope to start upping that a bit.  At this point, the most uncomfortable thing I do is stand still.  When I stand still, I feel pins and prickly pinches in both knees.  But otherwise I’m moving along very well.  I went out in public the last 2 days wearing shorts.  I’ve decided I don’t care about the scars.

My RA?  I wish I could say it was better but it’s not.  I’m still very achy every day and mornings are tough.  I saw the rheumatologist this week and he suggested increasing the amount of methotrexate I inject each week.  Today was the first morning I tried that.  We shall see. The dose I was giving myself before wasn’t lasting the week so that I would dose a day or two early, which didn’t thrill my doctor.

The stomach upset that comes with restarting Xeljanz XR has mostly stopped, so I hope that I will soon feel the full effects of the medication.  The doctor said that 2 major surgeries was probably a shock to my system and my immune system is a bit out of whack.  Good point.

4 thoughts on “Mid Summer update

  1. Okay, now I’m looking forward to the posts about skiing in a few months. You are doing so totally awesome. It’s hard going through knee replacement. Well, the actually replacement part isn’t bad because you’re asleep and on drugs, but the recovery is rough. It does take a while to wrangle your RA back into submission, but I have no doubt that will happen as well. You go girl!

Leave a Reply

