TKR

TKR = Total Knee Replacement.  I admit to blaming much of my recent pain on RA, which has been more active this year, but in reality my left knee has been problematic since the end of ski season last year.  I’ve limped most of the year and kept thinking that changing RA meds would magically fix it.

Denial.  When a coworker stated recently that I’d been limping for months and when was I going to do something about it, it hit home.  I shed a couple of tears as the reality hit that the knee wasn’t going to get better.  I knew that the cartilage was gone and I was bone on bone and that no medication is going to fix that, but I was still hoping.

I called the orthopedic and saw him this past week.  A few new x-rays were enough to show how bad it has gotten and the doctor and I agreed to schedule surgery soon.

So February 15th I will be undergoing a total knee replacement and it can’t come soon enough.

Wishing all my WordPress friends far and near a happy, healthy and peaceful 2017!!  Happy New Year!

8 thoughts on “TKR

  1. So sorry to hear that, but I’m glad relief is in sight. I know the thought of surgery is scary, but keep your mind on the fact that the pain will be behind you. Will keep you in my prayers. This too shall pass. Blessings for the new year to you and yours. And a gentle hug for you.

  2. I had a total hip replacement in 2012 and it was the fourth best decision I have ever made. Given that the first three are my wife and two sons, and it ranks ahead of open heart surgery,, you can see it has made a big difference n my life.

    Sheryl and i wish you the very best new year!!

    • Rick – thanks for the good wishes. My dad has had 5 knees and mom had a new hip just about a year ago. We are fortunate to live in modern times where joint replacement is routine. I’m looking forward to getting on with my active life.

      Happy New Year to you and Sheryl.

    • Thanks! For us, a quiet dinner at home in our new kitchen is celebration enough. Simple pleasures for us. Happy New Year. I’ve enjoyed sharing with you in 2016. Hope we both find comfort and peace in 2017

  3. I won’t bore you with my own tales of hip, shoulder, and knee replacements (they’re document on my blog). I will wish you all the best. If your TKR turns out half as good as mine has, you’ll wonder why you waited so long. Take care of yourself and keep us posted. Sending hugs!

    • Are you kidding me? You’re my role model Carla. I am so looking forward to having this done. I embrace rehab. I can’t wait to get back to walking. And skiing next season. I’ve followed you through several replacements. Thanks for what you’ve prepared me for. Onward and upward.

Leave a Reply

