Summer 2016

Once again summer has gone fast!!! It always does, doesn’t it?  Considering I haven’t felt my best, it’s been a good summer.  My RA flare is continuing and I feel it every morning when waking up.  The stiffness in my fingers and thumbs is real. And painful.  My knees hurt as well, although they seem a bit better than earlier this summer.

Acupuncture?  I’ve had 3 sessions and I’m not sure that’s what enabled me to walk all around Chicago last week for 5 days, or if it was sheer determination and stubborness.  We walked to dinner 4 nights, once even for 1.5 miles.  I would start the day with pain meds and might add another in the afternoon.  I walked slower than in past trips, and was more deliberate in my steps, but I walked nonetheless.

Cocktails and snacks with two nieces, dinner with good friends one night and 2 business dinners with Mr. Phat and lunch with some gal pals kept me busy for 5 days.

I have a few more acupuncture visits that I’ve paid for and will decide at a future date whether to continue.  My primary thoughts at this time is when is it time to change biologics?  I have been on Enbrel for 8 years.  I was in remission for most of that time, but no longer.  Is it time to explore options?  That’s what’s facing me going forward.  I’ve been trying to be patient to see if the flare resolves itself because as far as biologics go, the devil I know is better than the one I don’t know.  But when is it time to switch?

2

Here’s Mr. Phat and I taking selfies with the kids on Molly’s 2nd birthday this week.

 

4

Here’s lunch along the river in Chicago one afternoon with old friends.  One of which has RA so we were able to share strategies.

1

This is from yesterday.  We spent the afternoon at the Sergio Franchi Memorial concert in Stonington CT.  What a fun event!!

Truth is, I don’t have much to complain about.  I’m doing OK.  RA be damned.

4 thoughts on “Summer 2016

  1. What great thoughts. I’m so glad you’ve had such a super summer (in spite of RA!). Changing treatment plans can be scary, particularly when you’ve been on the same drug(s) for a while. Sounds like a trip to the rheumatologist is in your future. (Wasn’t it great to hear from Irma? I’ve been worried.)

    • Carla, I actually visited my rheumatoid doc the day after my post and took a leap of faith and changed meds. I will post in a few days but fingers crossed. And yes, I’ve been worried about Irma as well .

Leave a Reply

