Purple Rain

Fentanyl.  Prince died from an accidental overdoes of Fentanyl.  I was afraid that something like this was going to be the outcome.  Fentanyl is the strongest opioid approved for use in the US.  It’s 50 – 100 times more potent than morphine.  That’s a very strong drug that he was self administering.  I read that as little as a quarter-milligram of fentanyl can be fatal. To appreciate how tiny an amount that is, consider that a standard aspirin tablet is 325 milligrams — 1,300 times bigger. For a man that weighed 112 pounds at his time of death, he didn’t need much to kill himself.

I don’t know what it means because we don’t know where he had gotten the drug – whether it was prescribed or illegal, but Prince had a problem.  Seemed that it started with his hips which were worn down from years of performing in high heels.  He had a scar on one hip, but I’ve never been able to confirm if he had a replacement hip or just hip surgery.  It seems apparent that he had chronic, debilitating pain and must have become dependent on stronger and stronger meds along the way.

The answer isn’t stopping people from receiving medications for their chronic pain.  Rather, meds need to be part of whole body approach to chronic pain – it should include perhaps eastern style treatments such as reiki, massage or accupuncture, relaxation techniques as well as properly administered opioids.  The people in Prince’s circle seemed to know that he was in a downward spiral because they had to divert his plane after a show for a dose of narcan, and they had reached out to some doctors for help. Reports said that Prince was going through opioid withdrawal.

I’m just so sad to see someone from my youth and generation gone too soon due to misuse of opioids – and very strong ones.  Everytime this happens, it puts a black mark on opioids which is tough because when used properly they can help people with chronic pain live a more normal life.  RIP Prince.

4 thoughts on “Purple Rain

  1. Damn, girl! You are amazing! You are so well informed. I have learned so much from you & I thank you so much for that. Your posts are filled with such helpful information. I’m sure there are many people besides myself who have benefited from them. You are truly an inspiration, Leigh.

  2. Thanks Trese. I’ve been following this subject for a while and have read alot about it. I did poach some of the info because I don’t ever remember specifics. But it’s important to me and I’m glad I educated you. Hope you are well!

  3. As always, I appreciate your posts for the thoughtfulness and insight. But once again I am struck by the fact that the abusers get the press and the millions who are in chronic pain either get ignored or get painted with the “abuser” brush. I don’t have the answers. I wish I did. But I do not like the way this pendulum is swinging. I do not use opioids (except for immediately after surgery). But I have compassion for those who are in such pain that they must.

    • Agreed. I’m not liking the way the pendulum is swinging either. We need more compassion and understanding. Maybe more tools to combat chronic pain. I’ve been having more pain than normal and have blended in ice packs, topical rubs and relaxation a bit. But sometimes I need half a pain pill to function.

      Have a great day

Leave a Reply

