Part of Me, Part of You

We can never know about tomorrow
But still we have to choose which way to go
You and I are standing at the crossroads
Darling, there is one thing you should know

You’re a part of me, I’m a part of you
Wherever we may travel, whatever we go through
Whatever time may take away
It cannot change the way we feel today
So hold me close and say you feel it too
You’re part of me, I am part of you, part of you

Read more: Glenn Frey – Part Of Me, Part Of You Lyrics | MetroLyrics

thelma & louise

Thelma & Louise

Remember Thelma & Louise?  It’s a  1991 movie that was near to my heart because it tells a story of women power and against all odds friendship. (It also introduced most of us to Brad Pitt, but I digress).   I have a picture on my bureau of my cousin and I sitting in my 1971 Oldsmobile convertible that I always referred to as my Thelma & Louise picture.  The song Part of Me, Part of You was my favorite song from the movie – I remember playing it in the car and singing along.  Loudly.  That song was written by Glenn Frey, a founding member of the Eagles, another band that wrote some of the soundtrack from my life.

Glenn died yesterday from “complications of rheumatoid arthritis, ulcerative colitis and pneumonia.”  I didn’t know that Glenn had RA or UC.  Two autoimmune diseases.   But I found the following picture on a blog today here  Jia Mom.  She is angry that people are dying from a disease that most people dismiss as being due to old age.  She’s angry that we haven’t found a cure yet.   glenn frey

And I think she’s angry, as I am, that another icon of our youth has passed on.  We can’t stop that.  It’s going to happen, but when you’re a patient of RA, like I am, and you’ve been struggling with the cycle of upper respiratory infections that I’m prone to getting, and inject a medication that lists sinus infections as a primary symptom, it makes me pause.  I wonder what am I doing injecting these meds that suppress the immune system but also create other symptoms.  I haven’t been able to lick this since last fall – how many series of antibiotics can I safely take before I mess up my immune system even more.  And then what happens when I’m in a weakened state and I catch pneumonia?  Could that be a death sentence as well.  It’s a bit scary and I’m hoping to get off this sinus infection/antibiotic cycle soon.  I have some other complicatory factors so the answers aren’t easy for me.  I don’t think they were easy for Glenn Frey either.

Glenn – thanks for helping with the soundtrack of my youth and my life.  You gave me a lot to sing about.  RIP.

4 thoughts on “Part of Me, Part of You

  1. Glenn Frey’s death has raised a lot of discussion about RA drugs and your post really cuts to the core of these comments. But life is a balance of risk and rewards. For most of us, those same drugs with the dangerous side effects are what make us able to function on a daily basis and help slow the progression of the disease that could ultimately incapacitate us. And while we’re all in this together, these are decisions that we, as individuals, must make on our own. Thanks for a thoughtful post.

    • Well this morning I’m headed to my primary care physicians because I’ve morphed into a cold and upper respiratory infection. I have appts in the next 2 weeks and my objective is to sort out the meds, symptoms and side effects. I’ve been basically sick since halloween…..ugh.

  2. What was scary to me was the fact that he had RA and pneumonia. I had pneumonia last year and it was scary as hell. It’s true that our meds leave us vulnerable and susceptible to infection, but the other side of the coin is how much do we let RA take. It’s a tightrope we walk every single day. And yes, I do remember my first sight of Brad Pitt. Easy on the eyes he is.

Leave a Reply

