Winter Finally Arrived

It’s taken a few extra weeks, but winter made an appearance yesterday and today.  We had snow flurries all day yesterday, which amounted to about half an inch at home.  Today was bitterly cold.  Didn’t take me long to hit my slovenly winter stride.  I had a challenging work day yesterday and got home to the woodstove cranking, and asked Mr. if it was OK to sit in front of the TV and binge watch something.  Which is what we did and it seemed very theraputic.  Tonite I had my session with my trainer and she kicked my butt with kettlebells.  You can burn up to 1200 calories per hour with kettlebells.  I lasted about 20 minutes before I yelled Uncle and we started on other exercises.

I did ski for an hour over the New Year Holiday.  There is a dearth of snow in Northern New England, and not much opportunity to make snow with the warm temperatures recently.  But there were a couple trails open at our mountain and Mr. and I ventured out early and got 4 runs in before it got crazy busy and we were concerned about colliding with someone on our first day out.  There will be many more days this winter to ski.  But I will say that my legs felt very strong for the first day out.  I can thank my trainer for that.  We do a lot of quad work and while I’m still Phat, she says my legs are very strong.  And they feel strong and tight.  Not so much my core.  Sigh.  Someday.

I hope you all have a great start to 2016.  I am working on some health improvements and I will talk about them in a future post when I have more information  – the RA is fine, but I need to assess some of the meds and the side effects.  For now, I’m busy planning a busy upcoming weekend with my family celebrating my mom’s 80th birthday.  Hard to believe she has reached that milestone.  But also feel fortunate to have two parents that are healthy, mobile and with it.  I know that can change quickly so we appreciate it while we can.

3 thoughts on “Winter Finally Arrived

  1. Happy New Year! Sounds like an amazingly busy start to the year. I envy you your snow. It’s supposed to be up to 68 later this week here in Dallas. Although there is a cold(ish) front supposed to come through this weekend. I love snow, but the cold weather is hard on me. Hope you have a wonderful year.

  2. Your core is just fine, Leigh. Your kindness shines right through your words. And that picture is breathtaking, which is probably how I would feel trying to breathe in that frigid air! Happy birthday to your mom!!!

    • Irma, you are too kind. You always speak so eloquently. It’s 1 degrees here this am and I’m going skiing. Proud and thankful that I still can. Enjoy your day and weekend. Your comment started mine down the right path.

Leave a Reply

