What’s Up Doc?

PillBottle

 As mentioned in my previous post, while it doesn’t happen often, phat50chick falls.  I’m still down, sitting here in my bathrobe watching Netflix.  Again.  This is all I’ve done since Saturday, other than an outing to see my doctor on Tuesday.  He diagnosed me with an upper respiratory infection, gave me the anti biotic Ciproflaxacin and told me to take them with ProBiotics.  This is pretty standard for me when I get ill.  I just checked the side effects of Enbrel and note the second one.

Common side effects of ENBREL

  • Injection site reactions such as redness, swelling, itching, or pain. These symptoms usually go away within 3 to 5 days. If you have pain, redness, or swelling around the injection site that doesn’t go away or gets worse, call your doctor
  • Upper respiratory infections (sinus infections)

Prior to being diagnosed with RA, I was susceptible to sinus infections because of my allergies.   Years ago, my ENT (ears, nose, throat doctor) told me I had chronic sinusitis. In addition to that I have a bone tumor, called an osteoma, in my right ethmoid sinus which prevents my sinuses from draining.  Basically I live my life one step away from a sinus infection.  All it takes is one little thing to throw off the balance and I’m down with another respiratory infection.

This time I’m surprised as to how much this has kicked my butt.  My doctor insisted on giving me a note for work, stating I was out all week.  In my brain I was thinking that by Thursday I would certainly feel good enough to go to the office.  Who cares what the note says.  My doctor always is ultra conservative with me in this regard.

I guess for good reason.  He knew that I would most likely feel like a truck hit me through the end of the week.

Maybe Tomorrow?

10 thoughts on “What’s Up Doc?

  1. Oh gosh, I know that feeling – I actually get it during a flare – and I’ve been hit by a car as a pedestrian, so I really know that feeling of being slammed. Here’s hoping you can peel yourself off the pavement soon. Wishing you well.

    • Wow, so you can actually say that you feel like you did that time you got hit by a car. I guess you’re lucky to still be around. Trauma can be a causal factor in RA you know? So they say.

      Tomorrow has to be better!

  2. Oh… I hope you feel better soon my friend. I was going to ask my physician about trying a biologic for treating my Rheumatoid Arthritis but after reading this, maybe NOT!

    GET BETTER SOON… and I’m gonna fix our Fitbit problem sometime this weekend!

    We’ll be friends on Fitbit if it kills me!

    ~bridgette 😝✌

  3. Oh Leigh you poor little thing. I hope you feel better soon. I know how you feel though. I’ve been getting URI’s every year for awhile now. Usually around the holidays. Thank god last year it came after & I was able to enjoy my holidays. Only thing was the cough that came with it lasted until almost spring! This RA is an ass kicker sometimes but whaddaya gonna do? Just chill & try to get plenty of rest. Enjoy the quiet if you can my friend.

    • Trese, I have actually had some moments when I’ve enjoyed the sitting with nothing to do. I haven’t been like this since surgery in 2004. I know in many ways this is a blessing – the staff has my back at work and I don’t have any worries. I have a new sunroom to sit in and enjoy, and I’ve been reading a good book. It’s a strange but good feeling.

  4. Wow, insult to injury! Those side effects are really cruel sometimes. I know URIs are the worst. Hope you feel better soon, but take the doc’s advice and chill for a while. Sending you good thoughts.

Leave a Reply

