The Snowy Day

My mom was a children’s librarian when I was young.  She would host story hours and this is one of the books that I vividly remember her reading.  It was a staple at Story Hour and at home where we read about Peter exploring his neighborhood after a snowstorm.

Today was a snowy day for us since the Blizzard of 2015 came to town.    Haven’t had a snow day in a long time, but this one came along at the right time.  I’ve been feeling punk since the weekend and today when I woke up I really had no energy and felt lethargic.  I moved from my bed to the comfort of the couch next to the wood stove.  Binged watched Orange Is The New Black, watched a movie and spent a little time in the kitchen making comfort foods.  I didn’t open my work laptop, although I had planned on being productive on my snowy day.

I felt guilty at first, but then realized how fortunate I was to have my RA flare up on a day when I really didn’t have to do anything.  What a great way to spent The Snowy Day.

5 thoughts on “The Snowy Day

  1. You should never feel guilty when you feel like that, Leigh. You won’t be any good to anyone trying to force the issue if you don’t really have to. I’ve been feeling very fatigued lately when I do any little thing. It was making me crazy! I finally learned to tell myself it’s ok to take a break, rest or just take a little nap if I need to and it’s definitely helped. So don’t beat yourself up about it. Your body is telling you that you need to rest. So listen to it. You’ll be glad you did. 😉 Enjoy your snow day! Hope you feel better soon!
    XOXO
    Trese

  2. I’m glad you decided to enjoy your snowy day. Sounds like heaven to me, curled up by the fire with a good book. And isn’t it a relief to just do nothing on a day when you don’t have to do anything? It’s the best. And I’m sure your body is grateful.

Leave a Reply

