New Year, New Post

                        http://www.fitbit.com/one

Phat50chick is still alive and thriving!!  I’m still Phat, but I’m happy and feeling really good.  Haven’t felt this good in a long time.  RA still makes me ache a bit, but for the most part I’m in a good place physically.  For Christmas I got a fitbit.  I have wanted one for a long time, and I’m loving it even more than I thought I would!

It’s tracks steps, stairs, activity and calories burned.  It syncs with the laptop and my mobile phone so I can keep track throughout the day.  I can add my food to the log to know the calories that I’m consuming.  Best of all, it will log my sleep and tells me how long I was asleep, how many minutes was I restless and how many minutes was I awake.  I have a long history of poor sleep, so this has been eye opening to me!!  No more blaming my fatigue on RA, the meds or getting older.  I truly am a restless sleeper and I do wake up very often during the night.  Not sure what to do with this information about my sleep, but I’m going to watch the patterns and chat with my primary care physician when I see him next.

I visited my rheumatologist this week.  He was so impressed with my progress.  We talked mostly about skiing as he is a skier.  And yes, I’ve done some skiing this year and most of the days I’ve skied, I haven’t had to take any pain meds.  The only day I did was the day AFTER I went bowling for the first time in 10 years.

So while there are days that I want to cash it in and step off the treadmill, I believe that I’m thriving right now and I need to keep doing what I’m doing.  RA be damned!!

8 thoughts on “New Year, New Post

  1. RA be damned is right! Hope you manage to get better sleep. I sometimes wake in the middle of the night, stress, but I read and it lulls me back to sleep. Wishing you a great 2014!

  2. OMG… Leigh I just recently posted about my obsession with getting a Fitbit. I liked to killed myself trying to attain 10,000 steps. You have got to tell me all about it, i.e., is it worth the price? Do you do 10,000 steps a day?

    It’s the dead of winter where I live and I cannot figure out how I can get 10,000 steps in. I’m averaging like 2,000 steps per day on my little cheap pedometer. Is that what they’re called? “sorry if this message sounds a little disjointed I’m using talk to text… too lazy to type” LOL

    • This time of year is so difficult to get 5000 steps. I like to walk outside even in the cold. But the snow and the dark makes it hard. From March thru November I do 10k steps 5 or 6 days a week. They just finished a bike path right next door to my house so we walked it daily. It was great. today I’ve done housework and cooking but felt punk so I’m at 1700 steps.

      But the answer is that I live my fitbit. Love love love it. It makes me more conscious of movement. It makes me accountable. bought one for Mr Phat for xmas and he lover his.

      Oh and it counts stairs too 😂

      • U just had to bring up stairs didn’t you! 😢 I don’t think I will be taking the stairs for quite some time now OR EVER. LOL That’s it… I’m buying my daughter-in-law and myself a Fitbit like yours. SHE GONNA BE SO HAPPY! ~bridgette

    • You won’t regret it. I sometimes March in place in the house or walk around the house just to get steps in. You can do 1000 steps in 10 mins or less. I’ve hardly missed a day wearing it since I got It. mr. Had heart surgery so his gives his heart rate and he loves it. Got his 10k steps yesterday. Probably today too since he snowblower 18 inches of snow.

      Good luck.

Leave a Reply

