What Happened???

Wow, I hit my 100th post and then I stopped posting.  I didn’t even taper off, I stopped!! Well guess what?  It’s not because I hit my goal.  I didn’t.  I dabbled with controlled eating and drinking this summer.  Which means that I only ordered french fries once!  And they were delicious.  I got a lot better about eating clean foods.  Eating foods that aren’t packaged or prepared.  Right now I’m pretty much down to tortilla chips as the only thing I’ve been eating that isn’t whole.  That and yogurt.  I eat fruit, eggs, salad, vegetables and proteins.  I even started making some protein smoothies this summer.

Exercise?  I worked with my trainer Cathy one day a week all summer.  I walked at least 4 other days each week this summer – found some new parts of the local bike path to walk.  I was very loyal and dedicated to being active.

Portions?  That’s most likely my downfall.  I’m not very good at that.  So when the office announced that they were starting Weight Watchers on September 24th, I thought about it for 15 minutes and realized there was nothing to think about.  I’m not gonna fit into my ski pants this winter and that’s not good.  I have a container of pants that aren’t going to fit while “dabbling” with controlled eating. I need to face the scale with a leader one day a week.  I have to have some element of validation each week.  Because otherwise, I’ll keep saying that I’ll start tomorrow, as I reach for another piece of something.

So I’m at the starting line once again.  A full two years after starting Phat50Chick, I’m ready to begin AGAIN!  I think that my graphic above is probably not indicative of the road I’m facing because I don’t expect it’s going to be short and fast like a sprint.  No, in reality, I’m the tortoise below.  Slow and steady wins the race.  Wish me luck.  Better yet, cheer me on.

Tortoise Beats Hare (6)

5 thoughts on “What Happened???

  1. Go, go, go!!! I too am trying to eat better. I still have RA pain but I’ve found I have more energy. That’s something. Now, to do the exercise I know I need to do!! Here’s to beginning again!!

    • Jane – Thanks for hanging in there with me. I don’t have any pain these days, other than a pesky knee which is more injury than RA. I’ve been backing off on my meds gradually and feeling good. Just fat. For you – just start with walking. Once you start, you’ll understand how much more in check the RA is when you do a little something on a regular basis!!

      • Good for you, Leigh! I’ve been on & off with Weight Watchers since 2003 and came to conclusion that I just can’t do it alone. I am a lifetime member and I know I just have to keep going to my meetings every week and hold myself accountable. I have a super cool leader & I think that makes a huge difference. But I agree with you 100% about the portion contol. I still struggle with that. Especially when it comes to pasta. That is my weakness! And being active is a must. I have to be honest. I’m not as active as I should be but I’m not a lazy slug either. 🙂 Hang in there, Leigh. Just do your best and I’ll be cheering you on every step of the way!

      • Trese – thanks for the encouragement. WHen you do it alone, you definitely get lazy. And I live with a foodie which can be a problem, although he seems to be more supportive with me this time.

Leave a Reply

