December 1, 2012

The Sand Vest

The Sand Vest

Sorry for the bad quality of the photo and no, I’m not a Harvard student into Bondage.  (Did you know that this week Harvard officially recognized a student group that supports bondage and discipline, dominance and submission, and sadism and masochism?) It was on the news this week.

That is a sand vest which I was told weighs 12 pounds, but it felt like about 30.  On Tuesday my trainer Cathy worked me really hard because I was “fresh” to her via text message before our session.  She had me doing TRX to get my glutes ready for skiing, then we did some step ups and work on the ropes and one of the other trainers showed up and suggested she punish me with the sand vest.  So I repeated all the moves, 12 pounds heavier.

I did a group class Friday at 5pm, which is always tough for me because I’m tired after the week and this was no exception, having been out late the previous 2 nights.  But I ate a big lunch so I forced myself to go since I had calories to work off!

So how am I feeling?  The leg and arm muscles are toning up – I can feel them.  My legs hurt, but it’s more about muscles and less about Arthritis.  My pants are getting loose and I have some back ups that should fit shortly.

So perhaps my trainer is into bondage – who knows.  All I know is that it’s working!!!

4 thoughts on “December 1, 2012

  1. Hi phat50chick,
    Hard work always pays off. The feeling of satisfaction you get after you have done your best can’t be overstated. Every little bit of effort we put forth brings us nearer to our goals. Your dedication is an inspiration to everyone who is trying to improve their fitness level. Keep up the good work.; your dreams are closer than you think.
    Sincerely,
    Kathryn

    • Kathryn, thanks so much for the great sentiments. I’m still doing good and am excited to be leaving in 3 days for a 2 week ski trip. I’m very fortunate to be able to do it and when I get back, my dedication will be even greater than it’s been this year. Talk soon!!!

Leave a Reply

