Spring is in the air

Image

Spring brings with it the chance to exercise outdoors – I’ve been moving alot in the evenings after work – walking the dog, and tonite we took a little hike in the woods near the house. Feels good to be outside.  I can’t wait to start working in the yard and doing some gardening.

Weight.  Yes, I’ve been back on the scale and last Wednesday I recorded my lowest weight since starting this endeavor last summer.  Not a huge victory, but a move in the right direction which was terrific considering I was under considerable stress due to a deposition that was being taken on Wednesday.  I’ve never been deposed and I didn’t do anything wrong, but it was stressful just the same.  However, I held it together and was very proud of myself.  Then I crashed and burned on Thursday afternoon and have to admit that I slept a lot this weekend.

I’m tracking my food pretty well and was OK yesterday for Easter, but have to admit that my cousin made her lasagna and I had to have a piece.  It was delicious and worth the cheat.  Took home no leftovers and was craving vegetables for lunch.  Bought a healthy salad and a bottle of white balsamic for the dressing.

I happen to be listening to the news and two-thirds of American women are overweight – many of them obese.  I’m not going to be one of them.

5 thoughts on “Spring is in the air

  1. Your floral arrangement is lovely! I too love exercising outside…especially with the dog. I’m so thankful spring is here. Congrats on moving that scale in the right direction. I’ve seen a big difference since turning 50 with regards to weight control. It has gotten much more difficult. Your words are inspiring. Thanks!

    • Thanks – coming from you that’s so flattering. Me inspiring you about weight loss. Seems that everything is harder after being 50 when it comes to health. Weight loss is tough because I think our energy levels are slightly lower. I’m just trying to do this again little by little. I’m OK if it takes me a while because I’m really trying to move to a new, lifelong eating style. That’s not easy when you live with a foodie:)

  2. I’m new to your blog. I’m here because of the RA connection. I love the name, and whatever your weight is, your picture is adorable. Thanks for sharing. And I need to exercise too very much so. I really don’t need to lose any weight but I am not in shape at all and I don’t want my RA to beat me. I need to at least do a lot of stretching daily. I don’t though. I’ve started and stopped yoga so many times. When I do it for a few days I think, Wow, this makes me feel better. I ought to do this all the time….than life happens and all the yoga and walking and whatnot get pushed aside.

    • Jane – thanks for your nice comments. I will be posting more going forward as I ramp up my efforts at good health. I told a fitness person/friend this morning – I am very happy about my life, it’s just my weight. And I don’t know how it is that we can be women who control everything except better care for ourselves. I know that losing some weight will be so much better for my RA. Stretching, Yoga, walking, biking or whatever it is – those of us with RA need to keep moving, no matter what happens in our life. I’m so happy that you stopped by and are following me. I’ll be doing a post over the weekend about my next direction – which I’m very excited about.

      Leigh

Leave a Reply

