Holiday Hurdles

Goodies

I work in an insurance agency and we represent a large number of insurance companies and this time of year is deadly for dieters in my office.  Every day brings more junk  goodies from different insurance companies that gets deposited in the kitchen.  I managed to avoid the cheesecake from last week.  I admit that I caved when the big tin of three-flavored popcorn showed up, but I had a little last week one day at lunch and this morning had a little bit.  That’s a hard one for me to resist.

Today an employee had brought in weekend party leftovers, so there was a tray of party pizza, some spinach pies and desserts.  I had brought in a salad and did cave and had a small piece of party pizza with the salad because I was hungry.  This afternoon a large basket came in from one of the companies that had cookies, candies, peanuts and pretzels.  My office is not really filled with slim and fit people.  We could do very well with not having this stuff sent to us.  I believe that many people eat mindlessly because it’s there.  I try to really be deliberate with the free food I consume and also appreciate that as a sales person, I can leave the office and not have it staring me in the face all day.  But if someone has trouble saying No, this is not a good time of the year to work in my office.

That being said, I recorded my lowest weight since starting this diet in August at my last weigh in.  I ate modestly all weekend, even with a couple glasses of wine with my mother and a couple of cocktails after shopping on Saturday that tasted Oh So Good!!  And I’m back at the gym regularly.  It feels great and I’m feeling great but it’s going to take some good will power to avoid the Christmas office goodies pounds.

6 thoughts on “Holiday Hurdles

  1. I can’t help but wonder, having just gone through renewing our health insurance, if the companies have ulterior motives. After all, my rates are still higher because, as my agent says, I don’t have a Barbie figure. Maybe sending sugary treats is their way of driving up premiums? OK, probably not. 😉 And really, who among us would feel loved upon opening a basket of Brussels sprouts? Ah, the holidays … we can make it through, I’m convinced!

    • Andie – that’s BS about you’re “not” Barbie figure. Health insurance premiums are skyrocketing for everyone in every corner of the country. It’s scary to think where they’ll be in 10 years. I want good health care, but what happens as the baby boomers retire? At any rate, it’s not because of your figure – it’s just because. I want to smack your agent for you. That hardly seems like a professional thing to say.
      I’m with you – trying to keep a stiff upper lip thru this treacherous season!!

  2. It is so hard to resist temptation during the Holidays but knowing you want better health for a better life will aid in that seasonal decision making… at least we hope! 🙂 Bridgette

  3. Bridgette – I’m trying. I really resisted today. I went to a meeting at 5pm and they had homemade cookies that the staff had made. Everyone said they were good, but I held strong. I think that for this time of year, it’s good to just try hard to keep a level head and a level weight. If I drop a couple of pounds, then great, but if not, I’m OK with staying the same. I just don’t want to gain. Every pound I don’t gain thru the holidays is almost like one lost at any other time of the year.

  4. You are doing well and I shall take you as an example. I love the Christmas holidays but I always seem to put some of the weight on that I have worked so hard to lose.

Leave a Reply

