Oh Boy!!!

I’m not sure how much I’ve divulged about my personal life on this blog, so I’ll let you in on a little secret.  “It’s a Boy!”  My ‘step daughter’ and her husband are expecting a child in April.  Her father and I aren’t officially married, but we’re together and very committed to one another, and marriage is just not important at this point.  I was mother of the bride two years ago when they got married and now I’m going to be a grandmother.  My step daughter’s mother passed away of breast cancer when she was 13.

I never had children, nor did I really want any.  I didn’t seem to have that maternal thing, but I had 18 nieces and nephews when I was married and I always thought I was one of the favorite aunts.  I still think I’m one of the favorites to the 9 children of my siblings.  (ok, other favorite aunts, if you’re reading – I know that you give me stiff competition  and I’m not trying to take the wind out of your sails).  People have asked me how I would respond when the step daughter and husband announced they were expecting.  I didn’t have to think about it too much because Mr. Phat didn’t think it was going to happen.  His daughter is now 30 and he just didn’t think it would happen and I didn’t ask.  I was sensitive about it growing up and so I didn’t want to put them on the spot.

When they came over with the ultra sound photo wrapped up for us, you could have knocked me over with a feather.  I cried immediately and am so excited to be a part of this.  My response even surprised me!  My family is so excited and it was fun to call my sister and sisters in law to tell them I was going to be a grandmother first!! Hey, I got to be mother of the bride first too!!

So today was the “sex lunch” as Mr. Phat called it.  My step daughter suggested it’s the “reveal lunch” following their ultra sound to determine the sex.  Everyone was convinced it was a girl.  Why do we do that to ourselves?  We all think because she’s not just all baby out front that it’s a girl?  But it was serious enough that the father to be had been psyching himself into thinking that a girl would be great – he really wants a boy.  We’ve been testing girl’s names out as well.

Shock when the step daughter opened the note from the technician at our celebratory lunch and it was a boy!!!

Oh boy.  I’m going shopping for Red Sox onesies right now!!

7 thoughts on “Oh Boy!!!

  1. This caught my eye, Leigh! My brother and his wife had a baby girl yesterday, and yes, Mama was all out front. We were all so excited to greet little Cassie…she brings my parents’ grandchildren count to an even 8 (4 of each) ranging in age from newborn to 27. There are also a group of “Aunties” competing for this babes attention because my brother has 3 sisters. So far, I am losing…am the only sister who hasn’t made it to the hospital. I’ve been working all day and taking my own kids to appts. afterwards. And I work 1 mile away from the hospital! Can’t wait til Friday when my schedule lets up and I can stop in to see the little girl. I hope your new little one brings you great joy. I know another friend who also skipped motherhood on her way to grandmotherhood. As the mother of teenagers, it REALLY seems like the way to go!! Little ones are so cute….teenagers are sometimes lots of fun and often not so much! Congratulations!
    Karen

    • Karen – Thanks SO much for your post. I just shared it with the Grandfather to be who definitely laughed about the teenager comments!!! All our front so they were expecting a boy and it was a girl, right? I definitely feel special to be able to skip the motherhood and then be the grandmother. Life it good!!! Congrats to your brother and may all the aunts spoil that little girl – including you when you finally get there!!!

  2. Awwwwwwwwwww… It’s a baby boy. I have tears in my eyes “I’m such an idiot”. Congrats Leigh and you must share everything. and… from your post on my blog “yes I crochet now while I’m on the recumbent bike and that takes my mind off how much I f#*%ing hate it. 🙂 I’m able to ride a little longer that way. I’m going to have the world’s longest scarf and/or strongest legs. Bridgette. NOTE: I want a GRANDBABY!

  3. Awwww – you’re going to be fabulously fun grandmother! (Although of course you’re way too young for that sort of thing.) I love your blog – and can’t wait to read more.

    • Thanks so much and I hope to be the fun grandmother!!! Thanks for the compliments. I loved your post so much. It captured what I feel is the true spirit of the season and how we should live all year long.

Leave a Reply

