World Arthritis Day

World arthritis day   Perhaps I should rename my blog “phat50chick with RA”.  I’m not sure if it’s a coincidence that I’m feeling the RA today, October 12, World Arthritis Day or if I have burned out my candle at both ends.  I didn’t sleep well last night and didn’t get much sleep the night before and I feel it.  I’m having what is referred to as an RA mini-flare which involves fever, fatigue and discomfort. I get these events two or three times a year and it usually involves a day or so of down time.

Needless to say I won’t be getting to the gym today as planned.  I did work half a day and am home (with some homework), and will rest up and try to recover quickly.  I have been on the go for the past 6 weeks at least.  Non stop.  Pushing and pushing.  It’s been a lot of fun, but September was a bear – that much I know and my body has now finally grinded to a halt.

Three fabulous days in Chicago probably added to it, but I wouldn’t trade those days for anything – the weather was sunny and warm, the city was full of people (the Chicago Marathon was Sunday) and we were three girls bent on having fun!!  Food, drinks and laughing were the order of the weekend.  And a lot of walking, which helped off set the food and the drinks (and the deep dish mini pizza I had for lunch on Monday).  I weighed in on Friday before I left and it wasn’t a stellar weigh in – I weighed 2 pounds more than the week before, and I weighed the same this morning.  So I suppose I shouldn’t complain what the scale says.  I just need to get better so that I can get back to working out and pushing the envelope.  Until the next mini flare.  I’ll emphasize it with one of my favorite sayings:

“Life’s journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways totally worn out shouting “HOLY SH*T…WHAT A RIDE!”

5 thoughts on “World Arthritis Day

  1. Lady, what are you up to? I’m on a blogging marathon today… surprising how much free time one has when your not overeating. :). Bridgette

    • Hey – I hope that means that you’re really working on the TOPS thing!?!?! I’m ending an incredibly busy 7 week period. Put a fork in me, I’m done. We walked tonite, did errands, grocery shopped, made a delicious stir fry (YUMMY) and now I’m ready to go to bed. I do have to do a blog post. Tomorrow…..I promise!!!!
      Have a great Tuesday!!!

Leave a Reply

