The Calm After the Storm

Yes, the title is hokey, I know.  But I’m trying to get a quick post in at the office where I’m not supposed to do non work related websites.  Sometimes I sneak one in – those are usually the ones with no photos or cartoons.  We survived Hurricane Irene, which I believe was actually a tropical storm by the time it came thru New England.  However, I live out in the woods and we have no power.  Hence no water either.  I have a hot tub that is today a cool tub, that we can use to flush the toilets.  The only sound last night was the neighbor’s generator thru the woods.  There are several trees down on wires on my street, and we are the last house on the street and many are without power.  We don’t expect it back for a couple of days. 

I fully intended on getting on the scale this morning but with the change of routine (no shower etc), I totally spaced.  Considering I spent Saturday afternoon and all day Sunday mostly on the couch reading, I’d like to think that while I wasn’t totally on plan, I didn’t gorge myself as I would have done in the past.  I didn’t eat just because it was dinnertime.  I had a snack instead.  We walked a bit, but I am excusing myself from big exercise because when the barometric pressure drops my knees absolutely hurt.  The inflammation from the Rheumatoid Arthritis gets much worse.  So the fact that I walked a bit and did 30 minutes of Zumba on Saturday morning is a bonus for me.

I’m in the office, taking claims from clients, although most seem to have fared pretty well.  A couple of trees on some buildings.  I think we were fairly lucky and mostly well prepared.  My mother always instilled a sense of prior planning in her four children.

Later this afternoon I do have to go home and empty my freezer and bring the stuff to my girlfriend’s business where they have industrial freezers.  But other than that, I think we managed well with the storm.   I hope everyone out there has too.  I only can hope that power gets restored by Tuesday night so that I can watch the Red Sox/Yankees spectacle.

2 thoughts on “The Calm After the Storm

  1. Hi Leigh… I was so sad to read about how the storm impacted you and your family. My heart and prayers go out to you and all of the people here in the U.S. who family members lost loved ones along with their personal property. As you stated in your post it’s hard to keep a regular routine with no hot water and no place to put your food. But I’m sure by the time you read this post things will be somewhat back to normal… At least I hope. I am so glad to read you are alright and hope things return to normal very soon for you so you can continue on your weight loss journey. Bridgette P.S. I did not know you were a New England girl… cool!

    • B – thanks for the kind words. I read them while in line at Dunkin Donuts getting my coffee. I miss my Keurig machine!! We still have no power. Perhaps by noon tomorrow was the report I just got. Thanks for your kind words and despite the imbalanced routine this week, I tried to avoid stress eating, snacking and eating for the sake of eating. And I’m going to post so be sure to read my next post. See you on the blog!!!

Leave a Reply

