Weighing In on Weighing In

Fellow bloggers – I’m wondering how often to weigh in. I have to weigh in on Fridays for Weight Watchers, and I’m not sure if weighing in during the week is good or bad. I have a friend that has made goal and she weighs in every morning. Says she has to. I don’t want to become obsessed with the scale, and yet maybe that’s a “fat” excuse. Maybe I need to weigh in more frequently based on my past lack of continued success with weight loss.

I stepped on the scale this morning and I knew it was a tough Saturday, but I logged everything and am paying for it now with just eating what I should. The scale was “weigh” up!! Almost to where I was when I started this fiasco….so you know the thought processes that go thru your mind. “I hate this; it’s not worth it; it’s frustrating.” Then I really assess and decide that I’m not drinking enough water. I’m not exercising enough. I’m not recording each and every snack, I don’t think. Just because it’s low cal, doesn’t mean I can skip writing it down. And lastly, I’m not eating enough fruit.

So it’s off to the store for lunch to get some fruit. I know what I’m doing wrong and I know how to correct it, I just need to do it.

3 thoughts on “Weighing In on Weighing In

  1. I weigh-in only on Monday’s so I can see how much damage I have done over the weekend. For example this weekend we had a cook out and when I weighed myself on Monday I had gained 1 whole pound. I am so mad at myself because I have been riding that recumbent bike like crazy. I will not weigh myself everyday because I would get discouraged. Bridgette

  2. I weigh-in everyday right after I get out of bed. I like to see the fluctuations of my weight. Use the daily weigh-ins as guidance, not as an indicator of your success. If your weight goes up, evaluate why. If you did reasonable well on your food intake, it could be so many other things, for example – water retention because you drank too many fluids.
    BUT, when you weigh-in daily, you must remain consistent. Do not weigh-in at different points during the day. Your weight fluctuates a lot even during the course of a day.

  3. There you go – two opposite strategies. I’m going to try them both on alternating weeks and see which seems to suit me better.

    A WW leader once referred to the scale as a moment in time…and to not take it as gospel so much as long as its moving in the right direction over time.

Leave a Reply

