Five Tips to Help you Lose Weight

Thank you ElderCaring for the very good information  http://checkincalls.wordpress.com/2011/08/02/five-tips-to-help-you-lose-weight/

I think for me the biggest of these is 2. Practice self control.  I used to be very good at it, and I used to be thinner.  I used to easily cut out whole segments of food and I was able to say “no, I don’t eat potato chips.”  “Thanks, I’ll just have one.”  “I’m full.”

I’m practicing this again and I’m proud of it.  Last night we needed some baseball food (it is a game of consumption, right?) and I had only 4 points left.  So we made air cooked popcorn and I sprayed it with “I can’t believe it’s not butter” and it did the trick and kept me within my points for the day.  Before I would have been, ‘heck, it’s Red Sox/Yankees’ and I deserve a tasty snack.

Additionally, to learn from your mistakes and not beat yourself up is critical.  In the past if I blew it on Friday like I did this past weekend, I would then be off track for the entire weekend.  I wouldn’t log my points for rest of the weekend or for the bad day for that matter.  This time I logged it and moved on and went back out socially on Saturday and did well with my choices.  Same thing tonite – we’re going out for dinner, but I got to pick the restaurant and I know I can have a salad with scallops on it.  I know that I can sit outdoors on the waterfront and enjoy the company and the location along with the food.

Have a great day!!

4 thoughts on “Five Tips to Help you Lose Weight

  1. Hi… We are all going to make mistakes during this weight loss journey BUT we must dust ourselves off and keep going. Just remember… This blog is about you and only you. Blog the good and the bad while learning as you go. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK! The weight will come off.

    • FatGirlUSA – thanks!!! I’ve been following you and am amazed an impressed with your time on the recumbent bike. I have one, but prefer power walking, but it’s hot and so in honor of you, I’m headed to my bike right now!!!

  2. Insightful post. I agree wholeheartedly with your sentiments. I am trying to overcome the same issues: One bad day leads to another, and learning to say, “No.” Keep at it.

Leave a Reply

