Half a week’s progress

Hello. I have to say that over the weekend I watched what I ate, was active, but I did have a couple of cocktails and 2 small pieces of pizza and found that I was down 3 pounds on Monday! I was excited as it was nice to have motivation and results right from the start. My official weigh in won’t be until the end of the week, so it won’t be officially recorded. I also need to figure out how to track on the blog. I follow a large number of blogs by other, but this is my first blog. I’m not overly creative so it will take me a while to get the blog looking like a blog and tracking the weight in a fancy scale of some sort. I’ll get there, but time is short in the summer in New England!! We want to squeeze every bit of summer fun into about 75 days.

Which brings me to last night – we went to the Pawtucket Red Sox game and I stayed within my points for the day, even with having 2 light beers at the ball park. I had chicken breast and no roll and coleslaw and pasta salad – just a bit of each. I was proud that I did that and still felt full. I planned it on the way using the WW tool on my blackberry. I even had help from Chris on the ride – he suggested chicken and not a hot dog and once he learned the point value of bread, he realized what a detriment bread is for me.

One of the things that seems a bit different now compared to other diets is that I don’t feel like I’m starving between meals.  I’ve filled up on fruit and water which has satisfied me very much.  Fruit is now no points on the new WW PointsPlus program and so I try to pack a lot of fruit for breakfast and lunch, both of which I eat at the office.

I thought it was also worth mentioning here that I have Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA). It’s an auto immune disease and it means my immune system has attacked my joints, causing them to swell which is painful.  I’ve had it for 12 – 13 years and have had some down times with it.  Ten years ago I spent half my days in bed as I was exhausted and struggled with walking.  Thanks to modern medicine, constant movement and sheer determination I’m one of the lucky people with RA that has some relief from the pain and stiffness.  It does impact my activity level.  I can walk, but cannot jog or do any pounding or bouncing activities.  By the end of August I will go back to the gym for the winter, and to get ready for ski season, but for now, I’m doing power walking, my recumbent bicycle, zumba CD’s and some stretching.  I’ve done this all before so I know how and what to do.

Just got to do it, right??

Leave a Reply

